The Draper Prize

Recipients of the Prize


Isamu Akasaki, George Craford, Russell Dupuis, Nick Holonyak, Jr., and Shuji Nakamura

For the initial development and commercialization of LED technologies.

2014: John B. Goodenough, Yoshio Nishi, Rashid Yazami, and Akira Yoshino

The 2014 Draper Prize for Engineering was awarded to the developers of the Lithium Ion Battery.

View 2014 Draper Prize Video Presentation

2013: Martin Cooper, Joel S. Engel, Richard H. Frenkiel, Thomas Haug, and Yoshihisa Okumura

For their pioneering contributions to the world’s first cellular telephone networks, systems, and standards.

View 2013 Draper Prize Video Presentation

2012: T. Peter Brody, George H. Heilmeier, Wolfgang Helfrich, and Martin Schadt

The Liquid Crystal Display (LCD) is used by virtually everyone in the modern world on a daily basis. It is the medium through which people get information from a variety of everyday devices – including calculators, clocks, computer monitors, smart phones, and television screens. T. Peter Brody, George H. Heilmeier, Wolfgang Helfrich, and Martin Schadt each made substantial contributions to its development.

View Draper Prize video for Martin Schadt

2011: Frances H. Arnold and Willem P.C. Stemmer

For their individual contributions to “directed evolution”, a process which allows researchers to guide the creation of certain properties in proteins and cells. This milestone in biological research has enabled and enables solutions in such areas as food ingredients, pharmaceuticals, toxicology, agricultural products, gene delivery systems, laundry aids, and biofuels, among others.

View Draper Prize video for Frances Arnold

2009: Robert H. Dennard
For his invention and contributions to the development of Dynamic Random Access Memory (DRAM), used universally in computers and other data processing and communication systems.
2008: Rudolf Kalman
For the development and dissemination of the optimal digital technique (known as the Kalman Filter) that is pervasively used to control a vast array of consumer, health, commercial and defense products.
2007: Sir Timothy J. Berners-Lee
For developing the World Wide Web.
2006: Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith
For the invention of the Charge-Coupled Device (CCD), a light-sensitive component at the heart of digital cameras and other widely used imaging technologies.
2005: Minoru S. "Sam" Araki, Francis J. Madden, Edward A. Miller, James W. Plummer and Don H. Schoessler
For the design, development, and operation of Corona, the first space-based Earth observation system.
2004: Alan C. Kay, Butler W. Lampson, Robert W. Taylor, and Charles P. Thacker
For the vision, conception, and development of the first practical networked personal computers.
2003: Ivan A. Getting and Bradford W. Parkinson
For the concept and development of the Global Positioning System (GPS).
2002: Robert Langer
For the bioengineering of revolutionary medical drug delivery systems.
2001: Vinton G. Cerf, Robert E. Kahn, Leonard Kleinrock, and Lawrence G. Roberts
For the development of the Internet.
1999: Charles K. Kao, Robert D. Maurer, and John B. MacChesney
For the development of fiber optics.
1997: Vladimir Haensel
For his invention of the Platforming? process.
1995: John R. Pierce and Harold A. Rosen
For their development of communication satellite technology.
1993: John Backus
For his development of FORTRAN, the first widely used, general purpose, high-level computer language.
1991: Sir Frank Whittle and Hans J.P. von Ohain
For their independent development of the turbojet engine.
1989: Jack S. Kilby and Robert N. Noyce
For their independent development of the monolithic integrated circuit.